FAS1102 Review

Public Writing and Communication

Taken in: AY17/18 Sem 1
Expected Grade: B+
Actual Grade: B+

This is a pre-allocated module for FASS students. Many have mentioned that this module is quite useless because it is teaching us things we already know like writing an email, creating a blog post and all. The bulk of this module is about deciding on a topic to do research on and then sharing about it to the public by posting and writing about it on an educational blog. We then had to have a presentation on the topic. The aim of this mod is kinda to prepare us for as the name of the module suggest public writing and communication.

Personally, I enjoyed this class very much, mostly due to my tutor. She is a very lovely lady that made class really interesting and had really good inputs about the content she was teaching. I did learn something from the class with her so I am grateful for that. Thus, I feel that whether you find this mod good or bad really depends on your tutor as well and how they bring across module content. Furthermore, I also got to learn about prevailing issues in Singapore, so it also helped to broaden my horizons.

Assessment-wise, the bulk of the scores are concentrated on the blog post and presentation so do focus on that! They are not entirely time consuming and a good job can be done out of it if you take the advice and comments left by your tutor and peers to you. My group focused on the topic of the stigma of depression in Singapore and it was a pretty broad topic making it difficult for us at times. So, word of advice, do scale your topic well to avoid being too general and seek advice from your tutor!

Overall, this was an okay mod for me and I am really grateful to my tutor for making my 1102 experience! My friends from other classes do not really share the same sentiments as me so I guess that it is either you love this mod or you hate it.

One thought on “FAS1102 Review

Leave a comment